Moving Towards a Single
Oral Health Regulator

The four health colleges that regulate dental professionals in British Columbia are pursuing amalgamation to create a single oral health regulator. The new regulator will govern the oral health professions in the public interest by overseeing six oral health professions: certified dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental technicians, dental therapists, dentists, and denturists.

The amalgamation partners are the College of Dental Hygienists of BC (CDHBC), College of Dental Technicians of BC (CDTBC), the College of Dental Surgeons of BC (CDSBC) and College of Denturists of BC (CDBC).

Why amalgamate?

Having a single oral health regulator will promote team-based dental care, and provide one point of contact for patients, the public and registrants alike.

The boards of the four colleges determined that moving forward with the creation of a single oral health regulator is in the public interest, and have received support from the Ministry of Health for the oral health college amalgamation.

This initiative is informed by the Government of British Columbia‚Äôs plan for modernizing the health regulatory system to better serve patients and the public. Click here to learn more.

We are excited about the opportunity to create a truly new regulatory body for oral health. The new regulator will ultimately improve patient safety, promote better outcomes for patients, and increase public confidence through transparency and accountability.